R&J/ 5.1.11-23

by

ROMEO

News from Verona!–How now, Balthasar!
Dost thou not bring me letters from the friar?
How doth my lady? Is my father well?
How fares my Juliet? that I ask again;
For nothing can be ill, if she be well.

BALTHASAR

Then she is well, and nothing can be ill:
Her body sleeps in Capel’s monument,
And her immortal part with angels lives.
I saw her laid low in her kindred’s vault,
And presently took post to tell it you:
O, pardon me for bringing these ill news,
Since you did leave it for my office, sir.

One Response to “R&J/ 5.1.11-23”

  1. ‘NOTHING’ in Shakespeare « Nothing Says:

    […] Romeo and Juliet: “The winds, who nothing hurt withal hiss’d him in scorn” (1.1.106-115); “O any thing, of nothing first create!” (1.1.171-182); “Thou talk’st of nothing”, “I talk of dreams, Which are the children of an idle brain, Begot of nothing but vain fantasy” (1.4.95-103); “She speaks yet she says nothing what of that?” (2.2.10-13); “look to hear nothing but discords: here’s my fiddlestick;” (3.1.45-48); “nothing but one of your nine lives” (3.1.75-81); “Is he gone, and hath nothing?” (3.1.3); “she says nothing sir, but weeps and weeps” (3.3.99-102); “all the world to nothing That he dares ne’er come back to challenge you” (3.5.214-219); “I am nothing slow to slack his haste” (4.1.1-5); “nothing may prorogue it,” (4.1.46-51); “nothing can be ill, if she be well”, “she is well, and nothing can be ill” (5.1.11-23). […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.